HerWorship College Life:”I can’t find a place to get into His Presence!”

In college it can be extremely difficult to find a place to spend time with God and pray. If you are some what like me you understand that as a christian it is important to have alone time with God. Matthew 6:6 says:

” But you, when you pray, go into your room, and when you have shut the door, pray to your Father who is in the secret place; and your Father who sees in secret will reward you openly.”

That scripture confirms the fact that we should have personal time with God away from outside distractions but, what do you do when you are constantly surrounded by people? I’m going to offer some tips that will hopefully give you an idea on what you can do to in order to get back your private time with Christ.

  1. Get Up Earlier

If have your own room but you have roommates and  if you are someone who is a little shy when it comes to people hearing you pray, you may have to get up a little earlier when your roommates are sleeping or at the very least they are quiet. I know! You probably already get up early enough for those 8:00am or 9:00am classes or you probably want to sleep in to recover from a late night study session. This is how i had to think of it, “If He (Christ) sacrificed Himself for me, the least I can do is wake up an hour or two earlier to spend time with Him”. You can also get a daily devotional. Getting a daily devotional will not only give your day a great start but it will also put you in a good mindset and it will give you something to look forward to when you wake up!

 2. Stay up Later

Still not convinced about getting up earlier? Stay up later! I personally prefer to star my day off in God’s presence rather than waiting til later. However doing this can be a great starting place for anyone who is just starting to add in sometime with God to their  schedule.

3. Your Car/Driving

I know you may be think “What does my car have to do with spending time with God”. Honestly a big chunk on my intimate times with God and my breakthroughs happened while I was driving or sitting in my car. Think of it like this, when your in your car and your favorite song comes on, you are not the least bit concerned about who sees you dancing and singing. Although you are around other drivers who can clearly see you, you don’t care! Why? Because “that’s your song!!”. It feels the same way when you are listening to your worship music, praying, and crying out to God. I didn’t care if anyone looked at me funny. Why? Because that is my time with God!

4. Private study rooms in the Library

If your library is anything like mine, you have private study rooms available to students. Don’t let the word “study” keep you from using that place for your time with God! You can STUDY the word of God in peace and you can replace the word study with prayer.

5. Create Your Own Secret Place

Although I have a private room, I still have roommates. During my sophomore year I found it hard to stay in God’s presence because I would get distracted by the noise outside my room. One day while I was in a store called FiveBelow, God told me to buy a yoga mat and to use it to pray on. I really didn’t get the point! I wondered, Okay Lord, this is not going to block out the noise. What is the point? It wasn’t until I used it that I realized the change. Because I had dedicated a place to my time with God everything changed. When I got on my prayer mat I didn’t hear any distraction and I didn’t care who heard me. Below is a picture of my prayer place. You may notice some writing on it and that is because I would write down things God would reveal to me on it.

palce

I pray that this will help you create or get back your time with God. Going to church is great but God still wants intimate alone time with us.

 

 

Leave a Reply

